Abhishek Bhowmick | SharePoint Blog

SharePoint Versioning

Posted in Sharepoint by Abhishek Bhowmick on May 4, 2011

Versioning allows updates, restoring and tracking of the items in a list or in a library when they are changed. In order to enable versioning, one needs at least a Design permission to the specific document or list library.

Why should you enable versioning?

View a previous version – the ability to view a previous version of the item in order to refer to guidelines or to check from which version one is going to restore from. This view has nothing to do with the overwriting of the current version.

Load a previous version and store it as the current version – it is considered as easy to restore the current version with an older version. The current version which was replaced will become part of the version history so as to have the possibility to return to it. Reasons for this ability are: making mistakes on the current version or to restore an item which was deleted.

Record a version history – versioning, lets everyone know when an item was modified and by who. Version history keeps track of all the changes done in the properties and also saves the comments that users include with their version update.

Major and Minor versions

Major versions, usually used when a user adds a large amount of data to a file example a chapter or a section

Minor versions, which is mostly used when a user changes formats or spelling mistakes.

Minor versions are not visible to everyone unless elevated permission is allowed to users. This is because minor versions are saved as drafts. The minor versions needs to be published as Major versions so it is visible to others.

Versioning is only found in document libraries (minor and major versions) and lists (major versions only).

Versioning lifecycle in SharePoint

• Document with version 1.0 is a public version, everyone can see. Once a document is created or uploaded, it is automatically published for everyone to see.

• Document is checked out for editing, version 1.1 is created. This can only be seen by editor(s) (version 1.0 is still visible for readers).

• Document is checked in, version 1.2 (minor version).

• Document is published; version 2.0 is created – due to a major version, visible for everyone.

Versioning and Checking Out

After checking out a document or list item, a version is only created when a file is checked back in. It is very important to leave a brief comment while checking in the document or list item to track changes and timeline else versioning will not be effective.

Restoring and/or Deleting Version History

One can either restore a version to go back to a previous version or state or delete a version history if not required anymore.

Reference: http://office.microsoft.com/en-us/windows-sharepoint-services-help/introduction-to-versioning-HA010021576.aspx

Advertisements

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. AMOL GHUGE said, on June 3, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Very detailed description about the minor and major versions and specifically the permissions details as who can view the documents when they belongs to specific version i.e. Minor/Major !! This is exactly the same thing that i am looking for 🙂
    Thank you very much for sharing such important information….Keep it up as we want more post like this 🙂 Thanks once again…


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: